Maybe mistakes were made series: 1

I left Scotland in 2005 but I’ve really only been travelling since 2009 when I got my first volunteer job in the Mae Tao clinic on the Thai Burma border and although I am still here to tell the tales there have been a couple of times I had to wonder what on earth I was doing and how I had gotten myself into this!

Here are three of the best/worst – just don’t tell my mum!

Left on the side of the road at 2 am in Uganda.

I was travelling alone, without a schedule and I booked a bus to Ginga for an adventure fix white water rafting on the Nile. The bus arrived hours late, and a wheel fell of before we even left the city delaying us even more, we were then delayed at the border as 2 Canadians were removed from the bus by the immigration –  I think they have a worse story than me.

Anyway we arrived much later than scheduled and instead of going into the town to the bus stop the driver kicked me out on the side of the road, in the dark, on my own. It was all I could do not to cry in frustration and realising nobody in the world knew I was in Uganda…. There was certainly a moment when I imagined terrible things. All worked out fine in about 10 minutes, hardly long enough for me to even despair. A passing Moto driver picked me and took me to my accommodation helping me to wake the sleeping guard then drove of without his fare.

One thought on “Maybe mistakes were made series: 1

Leave a Reply

