Food on the trail – Part one

I’m walking 640km across Jordan, and the days are counting down remarkably fast. The point of the trek is not only to challenge myself but to raise funds for @MSF_UK as I’ve written about extensively, start at number one and work on through to ten. If you believe in MSF’s work around the world or simply like my blog please head over to my just giving page and donate a few Pounds, Euro, Shillings or dollars to the cause.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

My routine will vary each day depending on if I’m walking through a village or staying the night at a guest house where I will be able to enjoy amazing Jordanian foods. Some food I’ll pick up in towns and villages along the way others will go in my resupply boxes. I’m finding it fairly tough to estimate how much I will really need. I’m not sure what I can get in Jordan or where or how many calories I’ll need to replace daily. The big towns will be well stocked, but I’m basing going on what I know from Lebanese villages. I know I’ll need to eat more than usual but I don’t want to carry extra weight either.

Breakfast

imag1906
Example I have around the house

I usually stick some water on to boil as I pack up my tent and sleeping bags:

  1. Tea – I basically survive on tea
  2. Porridge with milk powder and I’m going to mix my  own oats with a variety of chocolate chips, caramel flakes, strawberry bits, marshmallows and coconut (not all together) to keep it interesting.

Lunch is basically snacking

imag1907
Example I have around the House

I’m bad at lunch even in regular life

  1. Local Jordanian food
  2. Hard cheese
  3. Salami
  4. 2 of :Chocolate/Clif bar/Kendal mint cake/flapjack/local cakes and sweets
  5. Mixed dried fruit/fresh fruit

Dinner

imag1908
Example I have around the house
  1. Local Jordanian food
  2. Mixed dehydrated camping meals
  3. Mixed supermarket dehydrated foods
  4. Snack bar/chocolate/ desert

Miscellaneous

  1. Boiled sweets

Drinks

  1. Water
  2. Electrolyte mix
  3. Hot chocolate powder
  4. Tea
  5. Milk powder

Do you have some favorite camping snacks, foods, meals which I should try or simply can’t leave home without?

Part two is going to look at putting the menu into the route plan  – what do I need to carry for which days. What is actually going in the resupply boxes

Part three will look at the amazing food I’m hoping to find in Jordan

Leave a Reply

