Cooking gear

I’m walking 640km across Jordan, and the days are counting down remarkably fast. The point of the trek is not only to challenge myself but to raise funds for @MSF_UK as I’ve written about extensively, start at number one and work on through to ten. If you believe in MSF’s work around the world or simply like my blog please head over to my just giving page and donate a few Pounds, Euro, Shillings or dollars to the cause.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Food is vital for thru hiking and there seems to be as many blogs on hiking food and recipes as there are for diets. But none of that is any good if you can’t have tea in the morning.

lots of people go cold, without a stove to save weight, I just can’t imagine living off trail mix and eating coffee. Partially because my braces limit me to non-chewy mush and partially because, like many Scots I function on tea.

So lets cook:

IMAG2135[1].jpg

I’m hoping to take my lightweight MSR gas stove, but will pack my MSR wisper-lite too, just in case I arrive and have gas issues as the Whisper-lite will burn anything. Also light weight MSR pot for boiling water, I sound like a MSR advert but really I have bought each piece independently and has been a coincidence, but I would still buy them again.

other bits n bobs – Pot cleaner, collapsing cup, lighter, wind screen with total weight 464g. I’ll throw spare lighters into the half way box, but I’m not worried about being able to buy a new lighter or matches along the way.IMAG2195-01[2].jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

