Brits love talking about the weather

I’m walking 640km across Jordan, and the days are counting down remarkably fast. The point of the trek is not only to challenge myself but to raise funds for @MSF_UK as I’ve written about extensively, start at number one and work on through to ten. If you believe in MSF’s work around the world or simply like my blog please head over to my just giving page and donate a few Pounds, Euro, Shillings or dollars to the cause.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Walking across a country is an exercise of time and space, the land changes, the climate changes, time passes and I have to be prepared while not turning into a prepper , packing enough to survive a zombie apocalypse. To find a balance I’ve been looking at last years average temperatures, rainfall and wind for April time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Starting in the North the start of April can still have a night time nip in the air even though the day time is warm. The average windspeed is 5 knots (3m/s or 10kph) which is a gentle breeze. Rainfall seems minimal, with only 4 days a month and not very much even then, so I’m gambling on not needing full waterproofs and taking my poncho (235g) which doubles as a ground sheet.

The day is warm, possibly over 30ºC and I burn like dry kindling. I’ll be keeping long pants on to avoid copious sunscreen and risk of sunburn. Light weight T-shirts with a long sleeved option if I want to cover up for villages. with a UV protective Buff to avoid burning my scalp which I do regularly. Buff can also be worn as a hair and neck covering when needed

But as low as 10ºC at night will have me shivering I’m packing a light weight fleece and jacket with a hood and a base layer set of clothes for evening to stay warm, clean and comfy in the evenings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Heading down to Amman the average weather doesn’t change very much, average of 10ºC but possibly up to 15ºC with 4 days of rain and 7 knots of wind so no need to change clothes of gear after the first stage. I’m guessing at some point the sand and gravel and dirt will force me to wear light weight gaiters, sand will rip up your feet super fast, just think walking with sandpaper in your socks for 20km a day! which is another good reason to have spare socks packed.

capture-karak-aprilKarak,unexpectedly seems even chillier than previous locations in April. I predicted a gentle warming heading south, but still around 7ºC on average at night but grazing low 30’s during the day. It looks as if all of Jordan had a cold snap in 2016, around mid-month so that is something to be aware of while out walking a sudden storm could throw off my progress or at least make me cold and miserable!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By Petra it is getting hot all of the days over 30ºC on average during the day and over 15ºC over night, trending up over the month. A change in rain graph format for some baffling reason – 13mm of rain on average in the month, which I consider to be nothing. Lots of sunscreen and covering up seems to be the plan to avoid turning into a BBQ lobster.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There is way less information about Wadi Rum area, I have to assume hot hot, dry dry and based on wind speeds, fairly breezy! Aqaba temperatures are certainly heading up by the end of the month even though it is on the banks of a body of water.

Sources:

http://www.accuweather.com/

https://weather-and-climate.com

Leave a Reply

