Water Gear

I’m walking 640km across Jordan, and the days are counting down remarkably fast. The point of the trek is not only to challenge myself but to raise funds for @MSF_UK as I’ve written about extensively, start at number one and work on through to ten. If you believe in MSF’s work around the world or simply like my blog please head over to my just giving page and donate a few Pounds, Euro, Shillings or dollars to the cause.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

The only big fear I have is running out of water in the desert. Stage 1 and stage 2 Should be fine for water each day so depending on how hot it gets I wont need to carry more than a days worth of water 2-4L. Stage 3 and 4 get a bit drier, So I’m planning to pick up an extra water carrier in Karak so I can carry 6-8L if needed as it will be getting really hot by the end of April through Wadi Rum region. And I’ll still need water drops to fill up along the way. Really hoping I’m massively over doing water capacity and I wont actually have to carry over 8kg ever, that will basically double my pack weight.

wp-1486409169265.jpg

I also have 3 purification methods! Filter, UV pen and tablets, I really don’t want to get a runny belly while trying to walk up to 40km a day where water is scarce.

The filter is for large goopy bits and each tablet is good for 1L in 30 mins and the pen can sterilize 1L in about 50 seconds. The tablets are mostly for backup in case the pen stops working as they do add a certain “terroir” on the palate.

Weight without water approx 500g but I don’t think I’ll have everything all the time.

Similar posts

Leave a Reply

