Sitting down with Sophie

I’m walking 640km across Jordan, and the days are counting down remarkably fast. The point of the trek is not only to challenge myself but to raise funds for @MSF_UK as I’ve written about extensively, start at number one and work on through to ten. If you believe in MSF’s work around the world or simply like my blog please head over to my just giving page and donate a few Pounds, Euro, Shillings or dollars to the cause.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Sophie has been my partner in dumplings since we met in 2013, many countries later we met up again in Scotland to take a lot of bad selfie pictures and eat big breakfasts so I strong armed her into doing a wee guest blog for me. 

Sophie – Tell us about yourself

I currently work as a communications consultant supporting nonprofit organizations, governments, and the private sector. For the last year I’ve been working remotely and led a nomadic lifestyle which has provided me a great opportunity to travel – a passion I share with Vix! I lived in Tanzania for about four years before this and also worked with tech start-ups and as an editor in a publishing house. I love to take on new projects so my work is quite diverse! When I’m not working I’m enjoying good food, reading, and organizing events!

12075019_1258553444161067_4956537992553633061_n
TEDxIlala in Dar es Salaam

How you know Vix?

I met Vix a couple of years ago in Tanzania when my housemates and I needed someone to fill a spare room – she was the perfect addition and we quickly became great friends! Over numerous plates of dumplings I’ve learnt much more than I ever thought I would know about lab diagnostics and drug resistant TB! To burn off all the dumplings I introduced her to ‘body combat’ and she has great motivator to work out – she’s even convinced me to go running on several occasions! She’s been a wonderful & honest friend over the years and I’m excited to follow her adventures on this journey.

IMAG2047.jpg
“Running” in Scotland

Why do you support Vix in her journey?

Vix is incredibly committed to her work and the causes she is passionate about, she always does a wonderful job at any project she takes on. She also works harder than anyone I know – both at work and when she’s relaxing – so it’s no surprise that in her free time she would take on this challenge! I’m sure that trekking Jordan will be a amazing experience (I wish I could join her!) and it’s wonderful that she’s taking advantage of the trip to also raise money and support for the work of MSF. I’ve also been very impressed with her preparation & training for trip, I can only imagine the physical toll of the journey but I know she’s really to walk all 640km!

What part of Jordan are you looking forward to Vix to traveling through?

In general I’m interested in learning more about Jordan beyond the major cities & tourist highlights. From what I have seen of Vix’s plans, the natural scenery throughout the country looks beautiful and fascinating, especially areas like Dana with so much diversity in the vegetation. I’m sure the views will be stunning and a great place to wake up during the trip!

Vaccination in Masisi, Eastern DRC

Why do you support MSF?

MSF is a truly impressive organisation and I’m really happy she is also using her journey to shine a light on their work. In addition to the holistic range of medical services they provide to people across the world, their commitment to neutrality and impartiality means that they put medical needs first, a truly admirable approach. Working in so many circumstances where health infrastructure is non-existent or destroyed, they do an invaluable job of providing healthcare to people who would otherwise have nothing, they work should be supported by everyone!

swaziland
MSF lab staff doing what they do

What issues that MSF supports means the most to you?

An issue that is extremely important to me is women’s health and MSF does a wonderful job at providing women throughout the world with access to health services they otherwise wouldn’t have. Providing women access to family planning, pre- and post- natal care means many women and their families can avoid further physical, emotional, and financial pain. Additionally I fully support their work with refugees and internally displaced people, people who are often turned away from receiving the assistance they need, let alone receiving medical help.

Sophie can be followed on twitter @slafayette 

If you liked this post more like it can be found at…

Leave a Reply

